Katy Perry: Part of Me The Movie

The Katy Perry movie came out in the US on July 5th. My daughter of course wanted to see it and even I was excited to see it too. My initial interest in seeing the movie was not so much because I am a dedicated fan and can sing all of Katy Perry’s songs but because by seeing the movie, it gave me an opportunity to share in something that is important to my soon-to-be 13 year-old daughter. When the Justin Bieber movie came out my daughter went with friends to see it. It was not until it came out on DVD that she asked me to see it with her one day. I absolutely loved the movie, the story behind Justin Bieber, and sharing that moment with my daughter. I developed a newly found respect and admiration for Justin and it gave my daughter and I a new common language to communicate in. The Katy Perry movie offered us that same opportunity.

Katy Perry: Part of Me
The Movie

Katy Perry was born in 1984 in California to Christian pastor parents. She is a songwriter and musician. Her initial entrance into the music world was through a gospel music album released in 2001. Although she signed up with record labels early on, and even recorded albums, these never made it to the music charts. Her perseverance continued and it was not until she signed with her 4th record label, Capitol Music Group, that she was finally allowed to develop her music in her way. It was this creative freedom that finally paved the way to her success. Her first album to go mainstream was “One of the Boys” released in 2008. This album included hits like, “I kissed a Girl”, “Hot n Cold”, and “Waking up in Vegas”. It was her 3rd album released in 2010, “Teenage Dream”, that boosted her into stardom, generating five number one singles: “California Gurls”, “Teenage Dream”, “Firework”, “ET”, and “Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.). She is the first female artist to reach this accomplishment and ties Michael Jackson’s album “Bad” which also generated five number one singles. Some of her current new hit songs include: “Part of Me” and “Wide Awake”. The Katy Perry documentary movie captures her 2011 one-year world tour and is interspersed with background and personal information.

At first, some of us moms may notice that some of her lyrics are a bit out there in songs like “I Kissed a Girl” and “Peacock”. But if you listen beyond and take time to appreciate her songwriting, you’ll discover a talented songwriter who reveals her innermost self to her fans. It is this sincerity that has won the hearts of millions of fans around the world. Katy Perry has a very quirky persona, appealing to all types of young people. In the movie, we see clips of her different fans explaining how Katy has inspired them to accept themselves for who they are and to be themselves. One of my favorite Katy Perry songs is, “Firework”, below I share some of the lyrics.

Do you know there’s still a chance for you.

Cause there’s a spark in you?

You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine

Just own the night like the 4th of July

Cause baby, you’re a firework

Come on, show’em what you’re worth

Make’em go, oh, oh, oh

My daughter’s school chorus sang this song last year. Any song that helps raise the self-esteem of a child or teen or any person gets a gold star in my book.

The movie will allow you to appreciate Katy’s kooky style. She wears fun and colorful costumes. Katy Perry creates a whimsical and magical world of fairy tale and candy land while still being the “girl next door”. In the movie, we also get to see clips from her “Meet and Greets” with her fans. Katy is very dedicated to her fan base. What also comes across  in the movie is that Katy Perry is not only a performer but also a smart business woman helping to make decisions that guide her career. The movie also introduces us to the amazing team of people who work with her.

So in the end, my daughter Clara did go with 2 other girlfriends to the movie. I dragged my mother-in-law who was visiting from Florida to see the movie too. My mother-in-law and I  sat 5 rows behind the girls (of course). My daughter and her friends loved the movie. I have to confess that I loved the movie as well and I even cried in the scene when Katy is going through the sad break up from her husband of 14 months, Russell Brand. She is crying right before her performance in Brazil, she manages to get on stage and give an amazing performance, then the audience starts chanting in Portuguese “We love you Katy”, and then she starts crying and so do I. It’s hard not to feel the emotions that she is going through and to witness the love pouring from her fans. Most importantly for me, seeing the movie allowed me to share a fun experience with my daughter, giving us more stories to talk about and giving me an appreciation of my daughter’s music. I am now a Katy Perry fan too.

Leave a Reply

