Guacamole, A Family Affair

There is nothing more delicious than freshly made guacamole and it’s so easy to prepare. Our family loves cooking together and we often make guacamole. Recently, my son, Connor, who loves to help in the kitchen with anything that involves chopping, helped prepare the onion and smashed the guacamole. My husband, Curt, and daughter, Clara, the family photographers, helped stage the photo shoot.

And well, Maya of course helped by making sure that the floors remained free of any food particles.

Vacuum Cleaner Extraordinaire

Our Family Guacamole Recipe

Ingredients

– 2 Hass avocados: cut, peeled, and smashed 

– ¼ to ½ of a medium onion depending on how much onion flavor you like (I use yellow or red onion): finely chopped

– ½ to  cup of fresh cilantro: chopped 

– 1 to 2 limes depending on their size: squeezed 

– ¼ to ½ of a jalapeño pepper or hot red pepper (depending on how hot you want your guacamole): finely chopped. If you don’t have fresh peppers then use a couple of dashes of Tabasco sauce.

– Salt to taste: Be generous
Note: There is no mayonnaise or sour cream added to an authentic guacamole recipe.

Preparation and Tips

I like to buy avocados that can be ripened at home. They start out feeling hard to the touch and are a very dark green color. Over a few days they will ripen, feel softer to the touch, and the skin will turn dark brown. If I feel the avocados are ripened but I am not ready to use them then I store them in the refrigerator for later use.

First I cut the avocados in half lengthwise…

Then I quarter them…

Then I peel the skin off. When an avocado is perfectly ripened the skin should peel off easily.

 Then I cut the avocado quarters, place the pieces in a bowl, and smash.

I add the rest of the ingredients, the chopped onion, cilantro, hot pepper, lime juice, and salt to taste.

I mix well. I am very generous with the salt.

I plate the guacamole…

 And serve.

Fresh Guacamole

The Mexican Molcajete

In our US home, I mix the ingredients in our “molcajete”, a Mexican mortar and pestle made from lava rock. You can also prepare salsas or grind spices in them. It is said that molcajetes impart a special flavor to the food prepared in it. We hand carried our very large and heavy molcajete back from Mexico eleven years ago and only spent ten dollars on it. I have seen them available on Amazon.com ranging in price from $18 – $60 depending on the size. It’s a great way to prepare and serve guacamole.

A Mexican Molcajete
A mortar and pestle carved out of lava rock
5 thoughts on “Guacamole, A Family Affair

  1. Pingback: Frisoles Colombianos con Arroz, Chorizo, y Aguacate | Navigating the Labyrinth of Life

  2. Pingback: Pizzas, Guacamole & Chimichurri, and Snow Days – The Kitchen Blackboard

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Maya! – The Kitchen Blackboard

Leave a Reply

