The Wicked Witch of the West is Alive, She lives in London, Rides a Bicycle, and She Wears Tweed.

Miss Gulch from The Wizard of Oz

An Injustice is Committed

For those of you who have been following my blog, you may recall that last summer I wrote about the lady who stole my parking spot in a Trader Joe’s parking lot in Delaware and how I reacted to this injustice. Well, today there was an injustice committed on one of my running mates and I am writing about it! I thought that by sharing the story I would in some way bring light to the injustice, offer some support, and help restore balance to the universe.

Here’s what happened…

We are a group of about 25 – 30 women running through the streets of London. Sometimes we can run in 3’s, or 2’s, but sometimes we must run in a single file because of people and traffic. We try to be very respectful of motorists, bicyclists and walkers.  As we ran through Little Venice (remember my article this week about the area with canals) some of the gals were on the sidewalk and a few were on the street by the edge of the sidewalk. Unfortunately, I did not eye witness the event. I only heard the aftermath sounds. All of sudden we heard a bicycle bell ring. The cyclist rang it multiple times as he/she passed the huge group. Typically we make way for the passing bicycles. And then all of sudden the bicycle rider punched one of my friends, who had remained on the edge of the street, out of her way. I don’t understand why this cyclist did not try to slow down, stop, or move further into the quiet street. There was ample space and time to react in. What violent behavior, “Let me just punch the person who is in my way”. I suddenly heard a gasp from the group as my friend recovered and yelled a retaliating comment to the bicycle rider. The culprit was a lady in a tweed jacket. What unexpected behavior from someone in this very polite and proper country. I think this act would be considered “assault & battery” somewhere else.

I felt really bad for my friend. It’s good I did not witness this event or that it did not happen to me because I have a bit of an overactive “injustice” meter. I know I would have been compelled to try out my unprecedented sprinting skills in order to catch up with the culprit who had stopped at a light ahead. And just like I cornered my parking spot thief at the store this past summer, I would have pointed out to this lady her inappropriate behavior towards my friend. Destiny also led us away from the crazy cyclist lady as we took a different path to hers. I know it’s not good to let these bad things affect us. We continued running. All I could do was be empathetic and remind both my friend and me that there is a balance in the universe and that these behaviors do not go unchecked. We later laughed together as we commented how the lady reminded us of the Wicked Witch of the West, of Ms. Gulch riding her bicycle this time sporting tweed. We continued running while we reenacted the music to this particular scene of the Wizard of Oz movie. And then with each stride that we continued to take, we gently shifted topics to much happier ones.

Leave a Reply

