The Journey

Back in September I snuck into one of my posts that I had just joined a women’s beginner running group and that we were in training to do a half-marathon in Bratislava, Slovakia in March of 2013.

Part of the Beginner's Running Group in our favorite meeting place

Part of the Beginner’s Running Group in our favorite meeting place

We are now 3 days away from the big day. I leave to Bratislava today and the run is on Sunday March 24th. Our group of 33 women, ranging in ages from 30 to 50’s started out with routines of walking 2 minutes, running 2 minutes and so forth and so on, to eventually running 11-mile runs. Back in September, when I printed out the training program I was amazed with what we would accomplish. We slowly increased our running times. We used to wince at running 15 minutes straight, then 30 minutes seemed outrageous, and an hour run was the “unthinkable”. Then the runs started getting longer and longer. By December we were running 3 times a week. The short run was 35 minutes long, the medium run was initially a 45-minute run which eventually became an hour run, and the long run, well we made it to 2+hours. Last week was our last “long run” before the race. We are ready for the half-marathon. Our main coach is a woman who has dedicated the last 11 years of her life to introducing women to running. She does not charge for this, for her it is a labor of love. Through her dedication to us she shares her passion for running while at same time building our confidence and serving as an inspiration. She recruits other runners to be assistant coaches to help her with the rookies. Every year she takes an average group of about 70 women, both beginner runners and graduates, to half marathons. She also trains some of the women to do marathons.

Our First Run to Big Ben

Our First Run to Big Ben

What we achieved as individuals and as a group was remarkable. I get a little misty eyed thinking of this group of amazing women, my pillars throughout the training. When the weather was dreary and dark, with temperatures below freezing accompanied by that quaint London spitty rain, all I wanted to do was go back to bed after the kids went to school. Instead, I donned my running gear and knew the group was waiting for me at the St. John’s Wood High Street Starbucks. Although over time the group divided into 3 sub-groups depending on our running speeds, we all remained cohesive and supportive of each other. We “left no woman behind”. There were falls, injuries, and disappointments along the way but we endured. There were also triumphant achievements, laughs, and celebrations. I was also very fortunate to have a fan club at home. My husband and children were so supportive throughout the training. They have been very proud of me and that is such a special feeling.

Last week proved to be a fateful week with regard to my running. On the day of our “last long run”, last Thursday, during the first 10 minutes of an 11-mile run I felt as if though a dog bit my right lower calf muscle.  I continued running thinking it was a cramp and that it would go away. I slowed down, and waved my friends on. I felt a pulling in the leg, not really a harsh pain, but things were not right. And as always, our head coach was suddenly there, massaging my leg, asking me questions, and assessing what to do. She asked me to slow down my pace and see how I felt. Part of me was afraid of further injury, but part of me was determined to accomplish the long run. Since there was no harsh pain, just a dull discomfort, I slowed down, and was able to complete the 11-mile run. I was fine once I was running. By 1:30 that afternoon I was at the physical therapist’s office. And yes sadly, I had a small tear of my right leg calf muscle. The good news was that based on the strength I showed in the leg that afternoon he felt confident that he would have me ready for the race, only of course if I followed his strict instructions. So this past week I was very busy icing, exercising, stretching, and going to the physical therapist. I did 3 short runs successfully and that helped increase my confidence. I will do the run on Sunday but I will need to start at a slower pace than usual and depending on how the leg feels, then I will increase my speed for the second half of the race. I am keeping my fingers crossed.

This journey I have taken with this amazing group of women has made us all richer in spirit, stronger in body, and courageous and confident in mind. It has reminded us of how important it is set goals. And I have had the opportunity to make wonderful new friends. This journey reminded me of how important it is to reach beyond our comfort zone and to aim to do things we thought we might not have been able to achieve. We set our mind to it and we achieved it.

4 thoughts on “The Journey

  1. Awh, you almost made me cry! I cannot believe how lucky I have been to be running with such a great group of awesome women, incl. you. I am nervous as heck, but now I am ready to do this, because I know I can with the support of all of my fellow runners. This has been for me a life changing experience and I will always remember this time we have had together. I hope we will all come back together for more running adventures. Love you

  2. I am so proud and jealous of you Ariadne! You go girl. What an amazing life changing journey you have embarked on. Good luck and keep us posted.

  3. By now most of the gals have started their journey…I and a few others leave in the morning (Sat). Why is it every time I move, I think I feel a new pain somewhere? Paranoia? I have more gels and balms and anti-inflammatory than my Grandmother ever had, that’s for sure! Ladies, a wonderful beginning to a lifelong passion for running. This is not the end of our journey, but a lovely mile post that we will share together. Get a good night’s sleep – tomorrow we tour!

Leave a Reply

