London Department Store Offers New Service: Baby Hanging

Yesterday afternoon I was at the Westfield Shopping Center in Shepherd’s Bush (London) killing time while my daughter took her ballet class nearby.

I went into the department store, Marks & Spencer, to buy a card and decided to visit the toilet as it is referred to here. As I looked for the ladies’ room I came across the following door.

IMG_1384

What? Baby Hanging? I wondered what it meant. As Americans living in London we are accustomed to hearing and learning different phrases and words used by the Brits. So I figured this had to be one of them. I kept staring at the door and wondering, wow, is that what they really call a diaper changing area in this country. I also thought, “Strange how I have not come across this term before”.  As I took the picture I thought of how terrible but funny it sounded.

“Baby Hanging”

I had images of hooking the baby to some kind of device that allowed you to change its nappy (diaper) while in an upright position…or perhaps if as a mummy (mommy) you ran out of positive parenting skills and were at wit’s end you…

As I washed my hands, I noticed two ladies also taking a picture of the Baby Hanging door as they entered the ladies’ room. I engaged them in conversation and soon we were all laughing together about the door. (Cannot imagine this happening in the men’s room) I recognized their British accent and realized that it was not an English Phrase on the door but the fact that the letter “C” had fallen off the door. They too were amused with the new service being offered by M & S.

One thought on “London Department Store Offers New Service: Baby Hanging

  1. Too funny! This story had me “hanging” until the very end! I never though of the letter “c” falling off!

Leave a Reply

