Visions of Sugar Iced Cookies Dancing in My Head

For the last ten years I have dreamt of making sugar cookies that are rolled out, cut into fun shapes, and decorated with royal icing. They always looked so beautiful to me. In my enthusiasm I have spent ten years collecting cookie cutters for different occasions like Christmas, Halloween, dinosaurs, spring, and many other assorted shapes and sizes. Sadly my cookie cutters have just collected dust all these years.

Working late at night icing snowflakes

Working late at night icing snowflakes

Don’t get me wrong; my children have not been deprived of cookies. I have made plenty of other cookies for them and of course purchased many Oreos and Chips Ahoy! along the way. I can remember the Wookiee Cookies from the Star Wars cookbook being a big hit! And we have certainly made plenty of chocolate chip cookies. At Christmas time we have a tradition of making cookies like Russian Tea Cakes that have ground walnuts and are covered in powdered sugar. We also make Chocolate Dips with a recipe that came from my mother-in-law making them extra special. Now we make batches of Chocolate Dips for major occasions of the year like Valentine’s Day, Easter, Halloween, and Christmas.

My first batch of sugar iced  cookies

My first batch of sugar iced cookies

But somehow I always ran out of time to make the sugar iced cookies, that is, until this year. With a son who is now a junior in high school, and a daughter, a sophomore, it was imperative to start my new tradition before they leave the house to go to college. So I researched recipes and watched You-tube videos on decorating with royal icing and I am delighted to report that I made my first ever sugar iced cookies. First I baked them and let them cool overnight. Then the next day I finished icing the first collection of cookies of mostly snowflakes, stars, and bells. Two days later I decorated Christmas trees, Christmas ornaments, and mittens. I was so pleased and happy with myself for finally making my sugar iced cookies. Ten years in the making! And they were a huge hit. I received many accolades from the family and friends. A new tradition has begun. Although I have only made Christmas themed cookies so far, rest assured I plan to use my extensive cookie cutter collection this next year. My thinking is that a 17 and 15 year-old are never too old for sugar iced dinosaur cookies!

The mittens, Christmas trees, and Christmas ornaments.

The mittens, Christmas trees, and Christmas ornaments.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Visions of Sugar Iced Cookies Dancing in My Head

Leave a Reply

