Boy Scouts of America – They Finally Did It!

Boy Scouts of America – They finally did it!

I have been an avid supporter of Girl Scouts of America since I was a child. In 1969 my Girl Scout leader was a wonderful African-American woman who was my neighbor and a working mom. I admired her for being so devoted to our troop even though she was such a busy woman. Girl Scouts taught me leadership skills, developed my self-esteem, and taught me about community service. The message that Girl Scouts gave to me was that I could be anything I wanted to be. Over the years I saw Girl Scouts of America evolve into a magnificent organization that supported girls and most important was “inclusionary”. Girl Scouts of America was ahead of its time in initiating a dialogue on diversity and accepting members from all backgrounds regardless of their social identifiers*. In 2004 I became a Girl Scout leader for my daughter’s troop. I loved bringing the values of Girl Scouts to my little Daisies.

That's me as a Girl Scout Brownie in 1969.

That’s me as a Girl Scout Brownie in 1969.

Naturally, when my daughter joined Girl Scouts I looked into Boy Scouts for my son. I had heard rumblings of some negative feedback about Boy Scouts in my past and I decided to follow-up with additional research. Contrary to Girl Scouts of America, Boy Scouts of America had a reputation for being exclusionary, especially around the topic of homosexuality. In some regions of the country, Boy Scouts of America functions under the auspices of Catholic Charities and has to conform to their policies. In many ways, Boy Scouts has also mirrored the United States Military policy on homosexuality. The more I thought about it I could not have my son join an organization that was not inclusionary and whose values on diversity were so different to mine. My mind was made up; my son would not become a cub scout.

One evening at the end of July my son, now 17 years old, gave me his cell phone showing a news update and said to me with a smile, “I guess you’ll let me join the Boy Scouts now!” I was so pleased to read that on July 27, 2015 Boy Scouts of America lifted their ban on openly gay leaders and employees. I said to my son, it may be too late for you but maybe someday your sons can join.

Thank you Boy Scouts of America for becoming a kinder and more inclusionary organization.

*Diversity – The original “Big Eight” Social Identifiers

1. Ability- Mental and/or physical
2. Age
3. Ethnicity
4. Gender
5. Race
6. Religion
7. Sexual Orientation
8. Socio-Economic Status/Class

Additional Social Identifiers:

  • Body Image (“lookism”)
  • Educational Background
  • Academic/Social Achievement
  • Family of Origin, Family Make Up
  • Geographic/Regional Background
  • Language
  • Learning Style
  • Beliefs (political, social, religious)
  • Globalism/Internationalism
Leave a Reply

