Saving Private Gumby

One morning on my walk with my dog, Maya, I found Gumby hiding in the brush on the side of the road. Although Gumby was clearly worn out and exhausted, he remained in good spirits. Excited with my newfound treasure I carefully placed him in my pocket and brought him home.

Gumby happy to be rescued!

Gumby happy to be rescued!

 

After a good rest and a sudsy bath I found Gumby a perfect spot in my kitchen. He waves hello everyday, reminding me to remain young at heart and to not take myself too seriously.

_dsc2990_new

Gumby’s new home over the kitchen computer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For those of you who are too young to remember Gumby, here is a link that will share information about this children’s television show made with clay animation in the 1950’s. The show ran through the 1960’s which is when I had the chance to enjoy it.  Gumby and his horse Pokey were the main characters.

http://www.gumbyworld.com/art-clokey-gumby-history/

 

 

Leave a Reply

